Brief overview of the Digital Technology curriculum in New Zealand. In 2017 Ministry of Education incorporated the new Digital Technologies | Hangarau Matihiko strand into the New Zealand Curriculum and added a new Computational Thinking pedagogy into the existing Digital Technologies curriculum which already covered Computer Science and Computer Programming (coding). By 2020 all schools were mandated to incorporate Digital Technologies | Hangarau Matihiko and Computational Thinking into their curriculum for years 1 to 13, a shift from the Digital Technology programming curriculum being optional for years 11 to 13. The new New Zealand Curriculum Technology learning strands include (1) Computational Thinking for digital technologies and (2) Designing and developing digital outcomes by learning how to design quality, fit-for-purpose digital solutions. Six core learning areas were defined as: Algorithms, Programming, Data Representation, Digital Devices and Infrastructure, Digital Applications, and Humans and Computers

links to digital technology pages

Computational Thinking

Computer Science

Computer Programming


Data Representation

Digital Devices + Infrastructure

Digital Applications

Humans + Computers

Learning Progress Outcomes

Learning Progress Outcomes were added to the New Zealand Digital Technology curriculum which describe the significant learning steps that students take as they develop their expertise in Computational Thinking for digital technologies from year 1 to 13. One of the New Zealand Curriculum key competencies is for students to be competent users of technologies in a range of contexts.

Learning Progress

Outcomes 1

Learning Progress

Outcomes 2

Learning Progress

Outcomes 3

Learning Progress

Outcomes 4

Learning Progress

Outcomes 5

Learning Progress

Outcomes 6

Learning Progress

Outcomes 7

Learning Progress

Outcomes 8